EC announces bypoll in UP’s Khatauli Assembly seat on Dec 5, counting on Dec 8

The Election Commission on Tuesday announced that the bypoll for the Khatauli Assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh would be held on December 5. The counting of votes would be held on December 8, when the results of the Assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat will also be out.

The Khatauli seat fell vacant on Monday when BJP MLA Vikram Singh Saini was disqualified after his recent conviction in a case related to the 2013 Muzaffarnagar riots. A court in the state’s Muzaffarnagar sentenced Saini and 10 others to two years imprisonment in the case last month. The accused were convicted under charges including rioting, rioting armed with deadly weapons and act endangering life or personal safety of others.

With the announcement of this bypoll schedule, an EC official said all vacancies in 2022 had been covered. The poll panel had on November 5 announced bypolls in five Assembly seats – one each in Uttar Pradesh, Odisha, Rajasthan, Bihar and Chhattisgarh – and in the Parliamentary constituency of Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh. The Mainpuri seat fell vacant following the death of Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav on October 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button